OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

May 6, 2015

The Honorable Shannon L. Grove State Capitol, Room 4126 Sacramento, CA 95814

AB 1271 (Grove) -OPPOSE

Dear Assembly Member Grove:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials regrets to advise you of our opposition to AB 1271, which eliminates guidelines for missing or illegible postmarks on vote by mail ballots and which eliminates private mail carriers such as Fedex, UPS, DHL and others as acceptable means of delivering VBM ballots.

The postmark rules were passed last year and have not been fully implemented so there is no way, using data and facts, to know the numbers of ballots which may have unreadable or missing postmarks. It is, in our view, pre-mature to amend this important provision of the election code which was intended to enfranchise more voters.

This bill would suppress voter turnout at a time when low turnout is a central concern of both elected and election officials while offering no objective claims of increased security or integrity.

For these reasons, CACEO must respectfully oppose AB 1271. Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Monofue

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Officium Populi - Office of the People